All-conference teams announced


LUSK – Four Niobrara County High School basketball players were honored for their recently completed seasons with a spot on the 2A Southeast district All-Conference teams.

Lady Tiger junior Rachel Krein led Lusk with 10 points and eight rebounds per game, while sophomore Tessa Manning led Lusk with 38 steals and was second on the team with 29 assists.

Junior Cory Bruegger was a repeat selection on the boys’ squad as he led the Tigers with 14.8 points per game and 78 assists and finishing second on the team with 5.5 rebounds per game. Freshman Nathan Miller was also honored as he averaged almost 11 points per game and led NCHS with eight rebounds per game.

It was a strong showing for the East side of the state with all four boys state trophies remaining intact from last season. Pine Bluffs repeated as state champions with a victory over Big Horn in the title matchup. Tongue River defeated Wind River for third place and Wright brought home the consolation trophy.

SEWAC rivals Burns and Lingle-Fort Laramie met for the girls’ championship with the Lady Broncs winning their first state championship. Sundance beat Tongue River in the third-place game, while heavy favorite Rocky Mountain claimed the consolation trophy.

2A Girls’ Southeast Conference All-Conference

Jordan Griess (Burns), Daljit Kaur (Burns), Ashlee Hattan (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Kamryn Rafferty (Lingle-For Laramie), Baylee Skinner (Lingle-Ft. Laramie), Natalie Speckner (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Skyla Wunder (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Rachel Krein (Lusk), Tess Manning (Lusk), Kelsi Bymer (Pine Bluffs), Abby Gray (Pine Bluffs) and Jessica Hoffman (Pine Bluffs)

Player of the Year: Jordan Griess (Burns)

2A Boys’ Southeast Conference All-Conference

Cody Hape (Burns), Cody Piasecki (Burns), Brady Cook (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Aidan Mattheus (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Brody Roberts (Lingle-Fort Laramie), Cory Bruegger (Lusk), Nathan Miller (Lusk), Ryan Fornstrom (Pine Bluffs), Collin Jessen (Pine Bluffs), Justin Lerwick (Pine Bluffs), Stu Lerwick (Pine Bluffs) and Dalton Schaefer (Pine Bluffs)

Player of the Year: Ryan Fornstrom (Pine Bluffs)

Coach of the Year: Ed Fullmer (Lusk)