Annual WyoBraska horse judging held

NIOBRARA COUNTY – The Niobrara County 4-H hosted the annual WyoBraska horse judging contest in Lusk on June 14th at the Fairgrounds. The contest consisted of 5 classes in total; 2 classes of halter geldings, a reining class, a western horsemanship class, and a ranch riding class. Participants evaluated the halter horses on structure, balance, and muscling. The performance classes are based on correctness of the pattern, the horse’s movement, and the rider’s posture. Participants gave oral reasons on the classes based on how they placed the class. 

Those present represented Sioux, Niobrara, Johnson, Platte, Goshen, and Campbell Counties.  n the senior division (Ages 14-18) Hannah Krein (Niobrara), was high individual overall in the three-way tie broken off of their highest reasons scores. Second was Jami Garson (Goshen), and third was Kaitlyn Snyder (Campbell). The intermediate division (ages from 11-13) had the top three individuals from Campbell County, respectively, Taebyn McGinley, Lily Riggle, and Kaitlyn Binder. Deklan McGinley (Campbell) was first place in the junior division (ages 8-10) Leah Krein (Niobrara) and Paul Kruse (Niobrara) tied for second and third, Paul won the tie on oral reasons. Leah, Paul, and Will Kruse were on the champion Junior team. Hannah Krein and Rachel Krein (Niobrara) were a part of the champion Senior team, a combined team with Campbell County members. The high individual in the adult division was Corrina Knighten (Campbell). Other Niobrara County 4-H horse members participating were Miranda Smith, Colt Peterson, Wyatt Strauch and Sarah Krein.

The contest was ran by Kitson Boldon, Hillary Brown, and Taylor Barnette. Horses were also suppplied by Travis Krein, and Jennifer Kottwitz. The official was Katie Ogden of Albany County.


Video News
More In Home