NCHS hoops teams host postseason awards

After an incredible spread of Cajun-style boil provided by the parents, Tiger boys basketball coaches Ryan Nelson and Andrew Bradfield (Andi Hubbard was unable to attend), delivered the post season awards. Monte Wade earned a Team Captains bar and white letter for four years of varsity, and just missed his fourth Iron Man award. Senior Eli Wagner and junior Dylan Miller were also named Captains as Wagner was awarded his third varsity letter. Juniors Ryan Gilkey and Jake Heil earned their third Iron Man and Miller his second. Seniors Jacob Muir and manager Elise Myer earned their first, along with junior Cole Hart and freshmen Wyatt Stauffer and Ben Eiden. Sophomores Jayden Matthews and Alec Penfield had the most wins on the free throw ladder while Miller made the most.

Assistant coaches Bradfield and Hubbard became parents on the same day as Andrew’s wife gave birth to a boy just hours apart from when Coach Hubbard’s new son was born. The seniors presented Tiger onesies for the new parents along with signed photos for all the coaches.

The Lady Tigers also had a great meal of lasagna, salad, and many fine desserts to go with head coach Deb Murray’s unique brand of celebrating the season. As JV coach Bryan Engelker handed out awards, C- squad coach Rich Murray seemed content to enjoy just sitting back and watching. Ashley Christianson won the offensive efficiency and free throw awards, while Sadie Sturman and Mackenzie Lyons shared the Outstanding Defensive Player awards. Kianna Blackburn won the 3 point award and Julianne Graham took both the Handle Award and rebounding honors. Makenna Engelker and Miranda Mosley split the Most Improved and Lucy Ceaglske won the Coaches Award.

At the varsity level, Deb Murray honored Trisha Hales with the Free Throw award, free throw ladder winner and Offensive Efficiency award. Taylor Gaukel won the Rebounding Award, Most 3 pointers and Handle Award. Senior Mattie Pfister was awarded a Captains bar to go with the Defensive Excellence Award and her third varsity letter. Miranda Gilkey was named Most Improved and Makayla Waldock was given the Coaches Award.

Seven Lady Tigers earned Iron Lady Awards, with Christianson, Waldock and Sturman their second. Pfister, Blackburn, Mosley and Lucy Ceaglske each garnered their first.

10,000 shot club: Emma Ceaglske put up her third, Christianson her second, and were followed by Pfister, Engelker, Gaukel, Graham, Lyons, Sturman and rising frosh Riley Shaw.

Juniors Smith, Gilkey and Hales- along with soph Gaukel were all named to the 2A Southeast Region All Conference team, while Hales and Gaukel were honored on the All-SEWAC team.

In closing the ceremonies, Gaukel passed off the coveted “Wrong Way Award” to Smith this year.

Video News
More In Sports