Stauffer represents Tigers in Panhandle All-Star game

SCOTTSBLUFF, Neb. – Niobrara County High School graduate Wyatt Stauffer participated in the 2020 edition of the Panhandle Prep All-Star basketball game on the campus of the Western Nebraska Community College in Scottsbluff.

Stauffer went 1-for-2 at the free throw for the Red team in a 113-105 loss in a game showcasing the teams’ offenses.

Lingle-Fort Laramie’s Caeden Riley and Torrington’s Jackson Jones scored 13 points apiece for the Blue team in the win.

Riley was also named the game’s MVP following the game.

The Blue team looked to put the game away early, taking a double-digit lead early in the second quarter, leading 49-38, but the Red team utilized a 20-4 run over the next six minutes to regain the lead heading into halftime.

The second half was a back-and-forth battle, and it was Riley who answered the call on multiple occasions for the Blue team.

On three occasions in the second half, Riley put the Blue team back in the lead with field goals.

The last lead change came with 6:40 left in the contest when Riley’s old-fashioned 3-point play put the Blue team in front 102-100.

The Blue team pushed its lead to as many as 11 in the closing moments following a triple by Jones.

Wheatland’s Danielle Brow scored the first two points of the game for the blue squad, and it was a back-and-forth battle until the second quarter.

With 7:18 left in the second, Torrington’s Dani Masterson put the Red team in front 18-16, but the Blue team countered with a 12-1 run.

The Red team tried to make things interesting early in the fourth with a 6-0 spurt to cut the deficit to 46-41, but that proved as close as they came for the rest of the game.


Blue 37 22 29 25 – 113

Red 29 34 19 23 – 105

Blue – Caeden Riley (Lingle-Fort Laramie) 13, Jasiya DeOllos (Scottsbluff) 21, Jackson Jones (Torrington) 13, Braydn Palmer (Alliance) 7, Tommy Watson (Sioux County) 4, Tristan Hunter (Sioux County) 12, Adam Kroeger (Ogallala) 12, Joel Baker (Alliance) 8, Sam Clarkson (Scottsbluff) 10, Kaden Kindred (Alliance) 7, Trevor Berry (Chadron) 5

Red – Carter Brown (Ogallala) 36, Beau Hanks (Kimball) 8, Bryce Sherrell (Gering) 10, Keaton Reichert (Mitchell) 11, Justus Golding (Pine Bluffs) 6, Cooper Heusman (Chadron) 16, Wyatt Staufer (Niobrara County) 1, Kolton Ebbers (Gering) 2, Will Ackerman (Crawford) 3


Blue 11 24 11 14 – 60

Red 11 13 8 16 – 51

Blue – Maddie Fornstrom (Pine Bluffs) 11, Danielle Brow (Wheatland) 4, Sophie Howad (Pine Bluffs) 7, Jessica Whitebear (Bayard) 4, Kaylee Wach (Ogallala) 10, Dylan Sweeter (Pine Bluffs) 4, Carli Wurdeman (Kimball) 9, Dylan Sweeter (Pine Bluffs) 4, Harley HIltibrand (Ogallala) 10

Red – Yara Garcia (Scottsbluff) 10, Aubry Krentz (Scottsbluff) 3, Dani Masterson (Torrington) 9, Sierra Garrett (Gordon-Rushville) 4, Samantha Hill (Torrington) 3, Juana Perez (Minatare) 10, Jaedy Commins (Ogallala) 10


Video News
More In Sports