Tiger football post season awards presented at banquet

Post season banquets are a good reason players, coaches and their families get to celebrate the highs and lows of a season completed. After a fine spread of roast beef was put out with salads, rolls and potatoes, Tiger Football coaches Ryan Nelson, Chris Skeen, Dan Hanson and Monte Adams handed out the awards.

First out of the gate was the announcement that the team GPA was 3.58 for the first quarter of the school year. This number is better than any W-L record, and one that everyone involved should be proud of.

After finishing fifth in the conference, the Tigers were fortunate with All Conference players being named (including previous honors): Damien Molzahn so (’17 1st team, ‘16 2nd team), Cole Mellott sr (’17 1st team, ’16 All State, ‘16 1st team, ’15 2nd team), Garrett Wurdeman sr (’17 2nd team, ‘16 2nd team, ’15 HM), Ryan Gilkey sr (’17 2nd team, ‘16 HM), Kyle Anderson sr (‘16 2nd team, ’15 2nd team), James Stone so (’17 2nd team, ‘16 HM), Traylin Bruegger sr (’17 HM, ‘15 HM), Drake Lamp fr (’17 1st team), Jake Heil sr (’17 2nd team), Jasper Caldera fr (’17 HM), Ryan Bruegger fr (’17 HM).

For the first time in three years NCHS had more than one player named to the All State team. Molzahn finished third in 1A with 20.9 defensive ppg. He led the Tiger defense with 167 points, 8.6 tackles per game, 26 solo tackles/62 assists, 7 TFL/5 Sacks, 3 FR and 1 PBU. Lamp had the most impressive freshman rushing season in school history with 858 yards, three TDs on 192 carries. It is the 22nd highest single-season total in school history, and his 203 yards at Wright is the 20th best in NCHS history.

Three time letter winners included Heil, Mellott, Wurdeman, T. Bruegger, Anderson and Gilkey. Two time letter winners are Teagan Tschacher, Stone, Molzahn, Managers Dani Kant and Ali McElroy. First time letter winners are Stephen Daniels, Alec Penfield, Jacob Miller, Dmitri Richards, Wyatt Stauffer, Lamp, Caldera, R. Bruegger, Aric Eaton and Manager Esmerelda Caldera.

As voted on by the players, 2017 Team Captains were Mellott (2x), Heil and T. Bruegger. The Iron Man winners for not missing a practice or game included Heil (3x), Molzahn (2x), T. Bruegger, Penfield, Stone and Stauffer.

While dates and times are still TBD, the 2018 home schedule has Upton-Sundance (week 1), Wind River (week 3), Southeast (week 4) and Wright (week 6) visiting Gibson Field at Fullmer Stadium. Road trips include Tongue River (week 2), Newcastle (week 5), Big Horn (week 7) and Pine Bluffs (week 8).

Video News
More In Sports