4-H Challenge shoot huge success

Lusk -The 30th Annual 4-H Shooting Sports Challenge Shoot was held on March 17 at the Niobrara County Fairgrounds. The late Ernie Lemons, long time Niobrara County 4-H Shooting Sports Leader started the Challenge Shoot in 1989 and this event continues to be a success and enjoyed by many in 2019. Ernie’s family was invited by the 4-H Shooting Sports members to attend this year’s event in memory of Ernie’s dedication and hard work. Many will remember Ernie downtown with his yellow notebook rounding up donors, prizes and teams each year. Numerous members of Ernie’s family joined in the fun by shooting on teams and visiting with current and past shooting sports leaders and members.

There were 42 teams competing on Sunday in youth, adult and family divisions. Each team consisted of four individuals who shot 20 air pistol rounds and 10 air rifle rounds. The 4-H Shooting Sports program was excited to debut their newly purchased computerized scoring system on Sunday at the event. Full team scores are available at: https://wyoextension.org/niobraracounty/4h-youth-development/ or found on Facebook on the Niobrara County 4-H & Extension page.


Champion Men’s Team: The Moose – Justin Kremers, Kenny Jensen, Ivan Eddy and Chris Santisteven. Awards sponsored by Rawhide Motel, Rich Pullen and Hickory Creek Catering.

Champion Women’s Team: The Kitchen Aides – Kim Johnson, Krystal Peterson, Rachel Manning, Amy Applegarth. Awards sponsored by The Cramped Closet and Hiway Brake and Alignment.

Champion Mixed Adult Team: Guys and Gals – Lacey Brott, Nolan Brott, Lisha Robeson, Brynn Robeson. Awards sponsored by Keenan Construction and Clark & Associates.

Champion Family Team: Lemons Family – Newly Lemons, Jay Lemons, Trevor Lemons, Leon Lemons. Awards sponsored by The Pizza Place.

Champion Youth Boys Team: Destroyers sponsored by Gary Bayne – Collin Taylor, Aiden Applegarth, Cody Taylor, Korbin Jensen. Awards sponsored by Zerbe Gun Works.

Champion Youth Girls Team: Irish Peeps sponsored by Lusk State Bank – Larissa Johnson, Katie Schardt, Sierra Lemons, Karen Schardt. Awards sponsored by Zerbe Gun Works.

Champion Youth Mixed Team: The Team sponsored by Doug Lytle – Korbin Jensen, Lily Krueger, Collin Taylor, Gwen Krueger. Awards sponsored by ZumBrunnen Angus.

A huge thank you to all 4-H leaders, parents, volunteers and donors that helped to make the 30th Annual Challenge Shoot such a huge success! Fun was had by all and plans for the 31st Challenge Shoot are already underway for 2020!





© 2020-Lusk Herald

Video News
More In Sports